About Us

Photo was taken at the northwest corner of Granby Street and City Hall Avenue in 1910


Est. 1908

The Builders & Contractors Exchange was founded in 1908 and led by our first president, Mr. E. D. Hobbs “to bring the various branches of the construction industry closer in touch with each other.”  Today our objective to “bring about cooperation and a general uplifting of the business” has not changed.

Our Vision

We believe that our service, and the benefits we provide to the construction industry, make the Builders & Contractors Exchange vital to the continued success of the construction industry in the greater Hampton Roads area.

To ensure this success, the staff and Board of Directors of the Exchange, make every effort to develop and implement effective services relevant to the changes of the construction industry.

We are dedicated to serve the members of the Exchange with diligence, innovation, and quality teamwork.


Promoting a spirit of cooperation and good will among its members and among those participating in or interested in the construction industry.


Cooperating with other groups, associations, or professional societies existing or formed for like purposes.


Advising its members of new developments in the industry through the publication of a bulletin, through the securing of plans and specifications of new and proposed work, and in any other way that will assist its members to keep in touch with new and additional work.


Supporting legislation in the interest of the construction industry and the community; opposing legislation contrary to such interests.


Formulating and promoting policies and procedures regarding invitations for bids, bidding, and contracting which are in the best interests of the membership and the community.


Serving the various levels of government and the community with standing or special committees in matters wherein the special knowledge of its members can be of value, but not inconsistent with the aims of the Exchange.

Officers & Directors


President Harry L. Davis III Sussex Development Corporation
First Vice President Mary Thompson Superior Marble & Stone, Inc.
Second Vice President Michael W. Anderson Riverside Brick & Supply Co., Inc.
Third Vice President Sherri L. Miles J.D. Miles & Sons, Inc.
Treasurer William Gresham, Jr. E. T. Gresham Company, Inc.
Secretary William Crocker Hoy Construction, Inc.


One-Year Term

Daniel J. Grygo Hampton Roads Bonding
Ed Jost Overhead Door Co. of Norfolk
Eric Stichler Blueridge General, Inc.

Two-Year Term

Jeff Cash Warwick Mechanical Group
Jessie Richardson Bay Diesel & Generators
Michael L. Sterling Vandeventer Black LLP

PAST PRESIDENTS (Scroll down to see past Presidents, *Red Denotes Deceased)

William E. Franczek 2017 Robert H. Wells 1989 W. R. Maul 1960
George G. Parker 2016 W. Collins Gooch 1988 C. E. Thurston, Jr. 1959
Jeff W. Knowles 2015 D. Leroy Spencer, Jr. 1987 R. Forrest Fowler 1958
R. Thomas Hitt, Jr. 2014 Roy E. Spears, Jr. 1986 R. C. Dorey, Sr. 1957
Ronald K. McIntosh 2013 Harry L. Montgomery 1985 William A. Cox, Jr. 1956
Michael F. Meehan 2012 Manning C. Merritt 1984 George H. Burton, Jr. 1955
James K. Shea 2011 Richard D. Tuttle 1983 R. R. Richardson 1953-1954
Robert H. Ashburner 2010 William T. Armistead 1982 E. A. Haycox 1951-1952
Douglas L. Haislip 2009 Jack G. Barr 1981 L. E. Dalton 1950
Don R. Johnson 2008 Harold C. Hoy 1980 W.T. Gregory 1948-1949
Doyle A. Palmer 2007 S. Norwood Richardson 1979 W. C. Whitehead 1946-1947
Kenneth F. Morris 2006 James V. Powell, Jr. 1978 J. C. Stephens 1944-1945
B. Christopher Moring III 2005 Richard W. Lynch 1977 J. T. Nichols 1942-1943
Brian A. Geary 2004 Charles T. Lambert 1976 V. J. Mirabella 1940-1941
Mark J. Hourigan 2003 Robert E. Kersey 1975 H. C. Hofheimer II 1939
Robert M. Kirby, P.E. 2002 Walter P. Conrad, Jr. 1974 E. L. Whitehurst 1937-1938
Johnnie L. Spencer 2001 Walter L. Tucker, Jr. 1973 W. A. Garlette 1935-1936
Alex J. Bradley III 2000 Frank J. Hooks 1972 J. A. Hagan 1933-1934
Allan T. Sivils 1999 N. G. Wilson III 1971 J. J. Collins 1932
George H. Burton III 1998 Donald D. Miller 1970 Ira Cahoon 1930-1931
William E. Chitty II 1997 Everette K. Wilson 1969 J. J. Shanahan 1927-1929
E. G. Middleton III 1996 William E. Chitty 1968 A. Lee Ribble 1924-1926
Richard C. Hudson, Jr. 1995 Lee B. Duke 1967 E. B. Griffin 1921-1923
James L. Craig III 1994 Marvin W. Lucas 1966 A. B. Consolvo 1918-1920
R. Keith Hathaway 1993 Stanley Waranch 1965 M. A. Williams 1915-1917
Elizabeth A. Twohy 1992 E. George Middleton, Jr. 1964 E. L. Myers 1912-1914
Robert H. McKenzie, Jr. 1991 Rhea L. Walker, Jr. 1963 Perry W. Ruth 1910-1911
Alvin D. Davidson 1990 J. Wesley Snow, Jr. 1962 E. D. Hobbs 1908-1909
W. O. Sherman 1961